Macular Disease Foundation Australia logo

    Celebration of 15 years

    2016 Annual General Meeting honours volunteers.

    Lady sitting on a chair with knitting needles and a red ball of wool

    15 years of service to macular disease community

    The celebration of 15 years of serving the macular disease community was a reoccurring theme at the Foundation’s Annual General Meeting held on Tuesday 6 December 2016, in Sydney.  

    Robert Kaye SC, who joined the Foundation’s Board in 2016 and was subsequently elected to the position of Chairman in September, warmly welcomed guests and spoke on the achievements of the Foundation and the important contribution made by volunteers, sponsors, donors, board and staff over past 15 years.  

    It was with a mixture of sadness but also enthusiasm for the future direction of the board, that the retirement of a number long standing of Directors was announced as part of the Board renewal program. A principle of good governance is Directors having a maximum term, which ensures renewal and underpins diversity of a board.

    Immediate past Chairman Elizabeth Carr, who made significant contributions to the Foundation during her tenure, along with Directors Ashley Chapman and John McCarroll, were given a huge vote of thanks for their outstanding service to the macular disease community over the past 12 years.  

    Foundation Patron Ita Buttrose spoke to guests and welcomed the many familiar faces who regularly attend annual general meeting. Ita spoke about the achievements of the last 15 years, updated guests on her own family members personal experience with age-related macular degeneration, and particularly noted the valuable support given by the Foundation’s volunteers.

    Many of the Foundation’s loyal volunteers have been long term supporters of the Foundation. Volunteers Clare and Beverley were acknowledged for marking up an outstanding 10 year of service.  

    The Foundation could not distribute the vast amount of information it does without the tremendous support given by the volunteers and together Ita, Clare and Beverley cut a commemorative cake to celebrate the sight saving work of the Foundation over the last 15 years.  

    Ita Buttrose, in her role as judge of the Foundation’s mEYE World Photographic Competition awarded Healthcare Professional Category Winner Dr Kerry Boytell a framed copy of her 2016 winning photograph. Dr Boytell has been a regular entrant in the Foundation’s annual photographic competition and in previous years has been Grand Finalist, Healthcare Professional Category winner and runner up.  

    Ita spoke how she and co-judges Rex Dupain and Alan Pryke are not privy to the photographer’s name in the judging process and acknowledging the tremendous skill of Dr Boytell to feature so regularly as competition winner.  

    Foundation Chief Executive Officer Julie Heraghty thanked directors, staff and volunteers for their support thorough the year and acknowledged the outstanding contribution of Ita Buttrose in her role as Patron of the Foundation.  

    Posted: 12 December 2016

    More articles like this