Macular Disease Foundation Australia logo

Expert advisors

Macular Disease Foundation Australia works collaboratively with many individuals, who are expert within their fields. Our expert advisors are volunteers, and we’re grateful for their contribution to our work.

Expert Advisors

Our Medical Committee, Research Committee, Audit and Risk Committee and Client Services Committee operate under the Board, each with a Chair and consisting of several Board members.

All committees have terms of reference approved by the Board and meet quarterly.

Our Consumer Reference Group meets informally on an ad hoc basis and provides MDFA with opinions from members of our community with lived experience of macular disease.

  • Medical Committee

    A/Prof Alex Hunyor (Chair, NSW)
    Dr Amanda Greaves (Qld)
    Dr Alex Harper (Vic)
    A/Prof Wilson Heriot (Vic)
    Dr David Hilford (Qld)
    A/Prof Anthony Kwan (Qld)
    Dr Tharmalingam Mahendrarajah (NT)
    Prof Paul Mitchell AO (NSW)
    Dr Grant Raymond (SA)
    A/Prof Peter van Wijngaarden (Vic)
    Dr Xia Ni Wu (WA)
    Ms Dee Hopkins (MDFA CEO)

  • Consumer Reference Group

    Mr Ashley Chapman
    Mr Richard Grills
    Mr Des Morton
    Mrs Val Nicholson
    Mrs Gillian Prikulis
    Mr Robert Prikulis
    Mr Jim Pringle
    Ms Jenny Solomon
    Mr Peter Wilkinson OAM
    Ms Dee Hopkins (MDFA CEO)

  • Research Committee

    A/Prof Anthony Kwan (Chair)
    Dr Fred Chen
    A/Prof Samantha Fraser-Bell
    Ms Imelda Lynch
    A/Prof Peter van Wijngaarden
    Ms Dee Hopkins (MDFA CEO)

  • Audit and Risk Committee

    Mr Neil Wykes OAM (Chair)
    Mr Ashley Chapman
    Brigadier John Fenwick
    Mr Robert Kaye SC
    Mr Paul Rogan
    Ms Dee Hopkins (MDFA CEO)